Kora and the Coyote

I think my adrenaline is still working its way back down from today’s scare. Kora and I were out on our favorite local hike and Kora ran off to herd some nearby cows. Just as she was about finished getting the cows where she wanted, a coyote (grey fox?) came trotting over and Kora gave chase.

Kora chased the coyote with me frantically running after both of them, screaming at the top of my lungs. Of course, I was no match for either of them, but running to protect my baby was instinct. Fortunately the coyote was pretty fast, though Kora was hanging with it. As the coyote went over the hill, I think Kora realized that the panic in my voice meant something serious was going on. She stopped chase and came running back to me, though she was pretty far away at this point.

I’m so thankful that the coyote ran rather than turning around and attacking. I’m so thankful that something made Kora stop giving chase and come back to me. I’m so thankful that my baby is safe and sound at home.

That was quite the scare. I’ve looked at photos of foxes and coyotes to try to figure out what it was and I’m just not sure. I got a very good look at it as it ran right by. This happened over an hour ago yet my heart is still pounding and my vocal chords are sore.

Have you ever had a scary experience like that?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kora and the Coyote

  1. Tiffany Pham says:

    Hi there,
    I have a quick question I wanted to ask you about your blog. Do you think you could send me an email when you get this?

    Thanks,
    Tiffany

Leave a Reply

