Pet Food Express Fiasco

Today, the trainer comes by the house. Most of the session is spent with her teaching me. We are not interacting with Kora as I had imagined. I have a million and one questions for her. I tell her the dilemma about my sister’s visit. She says that she does dog-sitting. A huge weight is lifted off of my worrying mind. Kora will stay with Keri for most of the time my sister visits.

Feeling empowered, I venture to Pet Food Express with Kora. It’s a disaster. Breakdown #2. I have no control over Kora as she barks at every dog in the store. If she were off-leash, she’d be fine. I have a few items in my basket at the far end of the store. I have a list of things I want. I ask the clerk if he will go get my cart and take my credit card and ring me up. I’ll be outside. I ask not to have a bag because I like to be environmental. So now I have a cart full of stuff and a dog that won’t come to the car and is barking at the dog right outside the store.

I profusely apologize as is becoming a regular thing now. “Oh, I just got her. Rescue dog. I’ve only had her a week and I’m a new dog owner. I have no idea what I’m doing. But I’ve signed her up for training. And she is a friendly dog, she just doesn’t like to be on leash. Come on, let’s go Kora. Kora, let’s go.” I hate to drag my dog, but I’m dragging my dog to the car. It’s hot out and I’ve now worked up a sweat. I’ve let half of my items in the cart to drive around and get.

I finally get Kora in the car. But now I can’t find my car key. Shorts pockets? Nope. Purse? Nope. Car seat? Nope. I can’t leave Kora in the car to go back into the store because it’s hot out. I dread taking her in because it was a struggle just to get her out. I think about asking the person in the car next to me if they’d watch her. I then see my car key sticking out of the car lock on the driver door. Now the sales guy is coming out of the store wondering why there are items sitting in a cart out front. I see the woman outside the store explaining who knows what, “Oh, they belong to that crazy lady and her dog”. I wave to him and he kindly brings me the items. I go into my story again about Kora – new dog, new owner, really good dog, getting training, etc. I get in my car and I break down. I can’t do this.

I get home and take Kora for a walk. I see a woman walking her dog. I turn around and go the other way—only to find her coming toward us later on. I try to get Kora to sit. She can sit when we are at home. Outside when another dog is around, she’s too focused on the other dog. She barks. I’m restraining her as best I can. The woman walking her dog yells to me that it helps if I have treats. I have treats, I say, but it’s not working. She comes over and lets Kora jump all over her and her dog until she settles down. She gives Kora one of her treats which is ahi tuna jerkey from Costco. This woman shows me such kindness. Her kindness breaks me down. I can barely speak. I hold it together while I’m with her, but I can’t say anything or I know I will start crying. She tells me to hang in there, saying that dogs are great companions. I’m sure that’s true, but right now mine is a foreign being that has completely taken over my life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment